Online Marketing Glossary
Not sure about the difference between ROI and LTV? Looking for ways to boost your CTR and lower your CPC while maintaining your KPIs? Demystify the jargon & spoon up a bowlful of online marketing alphabet soup with this handy glossary. New terms added regularly.
Online Marketing Terms, Explained
There are currently 3 names in this directory beginning with the letter E.
Email Click Rate
The number of recipients who open your email, divided by the number of subscribers who received your email. It is expressed as a percentage. Click rates are good for determining the level of overall engagement of your list.
Example: Out of 10,000 email recipients, 759 clicked the email. The click rate would be 7.59%
Email Click-through Rate (CTR)
The number of recipients who clicked on a link in your email, divided by the number of people who opened the email. Multiple clicks by the same recipient are not counted in this rate. You want this number to be as high as possible, but click-through rates will vary based on the content of your email.
Example: Out of the 759 recipients who opened the email, 376 recipients clicked one or more links within that email. The CTR is 376/759 = 49.54%
Example: Out of the 759 recipients who opened the email, 376 recipients clicked one or more links within that email. The CTR is 376/759 = 49.54%
Email Open Rate
The number of recipients who open your email, divided by the number of users who received your emails. It is expressed as a percentage. Open rates are good for determining the quality of your subject line and the general interest-level of your subscribers.
Example: Out of 1000 email recipients, 759 opened the email. The open rate would be 75.9%
Example: Out of 1000 email recipients, 759 opened the email. The open rate would be 75.9%